Class Episode 1:
For Tonight We Might Die


A series of disappearances from Coal Hill Academy seems to coincide with the arrival of Miss Quill and Charlie. Tanya nearly becomes the latest victim when a shadow comes alive in her room, while Ram watches helplessly via webcam. April is attacked by Corakinus, leader of the Shadow Kin. She is saved by Charlie, who reveals that he and Miss Quill are aliens hunted by the Shadow Kin. But April has been left with a connection to Corakinus -- and she realises that the Shadow Kin plan to seize Charlie in an invasion of Coal Hill at the autumn prom.



  • Forthcoming.

Original Transmission
Date 22nd Oct 2016
Duration 50'23"
Viewers (more) 1.1m
· BBC3 660k
· BBC1 1.1m
(9th Jan 2017)
Appreciation 70

Miss Quill
Katherine Kelly
Greg Austin
Fady Elsayed
Sophie Hopkins
Vivian Oparah
The Doctor
Peter Capaldi
Jordan Renzo
Coach Dawson
Ben Peel
Shannon Murray
Aaron Neil
Natasha Gordon
Anna Shaffer
Paul Marc Davies
Mr Armitage
Nigel Betts
Miss Shah
Pooja Shah
Alex Leak
Mrs Linderhof
Laura June Hudson
Counter Clerk
Satnam Bhogal
Student 1
Ellie James
Student 2
Moses Adejimi
Student 3
Assay Hagos
Student 4
Shalisha James-Davis

Written by
Patrick Ness
Directed by
Ed Bazalgette
Produced by
Derek Ritchie

Created by
Patrick Ness
Production Manager
Andrew Bonner
First Assistant Director
Matthew Scrivener
Second Assistant Director
Delmi Thomas
Third Assistant Director
Danielle Richards
Production Co-Ordinator
Jessica Elise Evans
Assistant Co-ordinators
Jade Stephenson
Philip Meachem
Production Runner
Emily Lowe
Alex Miarli
Iain Rose
Alice Edwards
Script Executive
Lindsey Alford
Script Editor
Emma Genders
Script Supervisor
Leon Williams
Location Manager
Iestyn Hampson-Jones
Unit Manager
Lyn Moses
Location Assistant
Hefin Rees
Stunt Co-Ordinator
Crispin Layfield
Stunt Performers
Belinda McGinley
Xavier Lake
Dani Biernat
Sam Stefan
Elliot Murray
Special Effects
Real SFX
Supervising Art Director
Andy Holden-Stokes
Standby Art Director
Sian Hughes
Set Decorator
Janeeta Panesar
Art Director
Paul Cowell
Production Buyer
Linda Morgan
Petty Cash Buyer
Lesley Elliott
Model Maker
Alan Hardy
Graphic and Concept Artists
Matt Sanders
Kartik Nagar
Storyboard Artists
Mike Collins
Abi Lingford
Props Master
Tim Upton
Prop Hands Standby
Richard Dalton
Nick Johnston
Prop Hands
John Jones
Tom Barratt
Phil Smith
Practical Electrician
Christian Davies
Standby Rigger
Colin Toms
Construction Manager
Mark Painter
Construction Chargehand
Dean Tucker
Standby Carpenter
Jamie Farrell
Casting Assistants
Ri McDaid-Wren
Louis Constantine
Business Affairs Executive
Steve Robson
Production Accountant
Dyfed Thomas
Assistant Accountant
Lisa Lloyd
Accounts Assistant
Greg Robinson
Camera Operator
Matt Fisher
Focus Pullers
Alia Bianco
Mani Blaxter-Paliwala
Clapper Loader
Chris Jacobi
Scott Waller
Matthew Budd
Sam Reeves
Assistant Grip
Matthew Hains
Andrew Taylor
Best Boy
Ben Griffiths
Gareth Williams
Matthew Challenger
Stephen McLean
Andrew Williams
Sound Maintenance Engineers
Jeff Welch
Joss Colin
Make-Up Supervisor
Sarah Jane Marks
Make-up Artists
Laura Beard
Inma Azorin
Costume Supervisor
Susie Lewis
Costume Standby
Charlotte Bestwick
Lydia Ellis Williams
Post Production Supervisor
Ceres Doyle
Post Production Co-Ordinator
Claire Rees
Assistant Editors
Christine Kelly
Hayley Williams
VFX Editor
Martyn Western
Dialogue Editor
Darran Clement
Foley Editor
Matthew Cox
Foley Artist
Meltem Baytok
Effects Editor
Helen Dickson
ADR Editor
Simon Price
Dubbing Mixer
Mark Ferda
Online Edit Assistant
Rob Garwood
Online Editor
Lee Bhogal
Chris Rodgers
Music Orchestration
Anthony Weeden
Music Recorded By
John Prestage
Music Mixed by
Adam Noble
Production Designer
Michael Pickwoad
Casting Director
Andy Pryor CDG
Director of Photography
Maja Zamojda
Sound Recordist
Bryn Thomas
Make-Up Designer
Roseann Samuel
Costume Designer
Ffion Elinor
Prosthetics and Creature Design
Millennium FX
Visual Effects
BBC Wales Graphics
Adam Green
Blair Mowat
Line Producer
Marshall Leviten
Head of Production
Gordon Ronald
Production Executive
Tracie Simpson
Executive Producers
Brian Minchin
Steven Moffat
Patrick Ness

Updated 26th January 2017