The First Doctor The Second Doctor The Third Doctor The Fourth Doctor The Fifth Doctor The Sixth Doctor The Seventh Doctor The Eighth Doctor The Ninth Doctor The Tenth Doctor The Eleventh Doctor The Twelfth Doctor
New Series Episode 103:


The Doctor and Clara travel to Caliburn House in 1974. The owner of the estate, Alec Palmer, is investigating the Witch of the Well, a ghost which has stalked the halls of Caliburn House for centuries -- and whose legend dates back to before the mansion was even constructed. To assist him, he has recruited an empathic telepath named Emma Grayling, who can sense the ghost's immense loneliness. The Doctor discovers that the Witch of the Well is a mystery which transcends time and space -- and that the ghost is not the only thing haunting Caliburn House.



  • Forthcoming.

Original Transmission
Date 20th Apr 2013
Time 6.44pm
Duration 44'44"
Viewers (more) 6.6m (18th)
· BBC1/HD 6.6m
· iPlayer 1.9m
Appreciation 85%

The Doctor
Matt Smith
Jenna-Louise Coleman
Alec Palmer
Dougray Scott
Emma Grayling
Jessica Raine
Kemi-Bo Jacobs
The Crooked Man
Aidan Cook

Written by
Neil Cross
Directed by
Jamie Payne
Produced by
Marcus Wilson

Stunt Coordinators
Crispin Layfield
Gordon Seed
First Assistant Director
John Bennet
Second Assistant Director
James DeHaviland
Third Assistant Director
Heddi-Joy Taylor-Welch
Assistant Director
Danielle Richards
Location Manager
Nicky James
Unit Manager
Geraint Williams
Location Assistant
Iestyn Hampson-Jones
Production Manager
Phillipa Cole
Production Coordinator
Claire Hildred
Asst Production Coordinator
Gabriella Ricci
Production Secretary
Sandra Cosfeld
Production Assistants
Rachel Vipond
Samantha Price
Asst Production Accountants
Rhys Evans
Justine Wooff
Assistant Script Editor
John Phillips
Script Supervisor
Steve Walker
Camera Operator
Joe Russell
Focus Pullers
James Scott
Julius Ogden
Gary Norman
Camera Assistants
Meg de Koning
Sam Smithard
Evelina Norgren
Assistant Grip
Owen Charnley
Sound Maintenance Engineers
Ross Adams
Chris Goding
Mark Hutchings
Best Boy
Stephen Slocombe
Bob Milton
Gareth Sheldon
Steve Guy
Supervising Art Director
Paul Spriggs
Set Decorator
Adrian Anscombe
Production Buyers
Charlie Lynam
Adrian Greenwood
Art Director
Amy Pickwoad
Standby Art Director
Helen Atherton
Asst Art Director
Richard Hardy
Art Department Coordinator
Donna Shakesheff
Prop Master
Paul Smith
Prop Chargehand
Ian Griffin
Austin J Curtis
Standby Props
Rob Brandon
Dressing Props
Jayne Davies
Mike Elkins
Paul Barnett
Graphic Designer
Chris Lees
Graphic Artist
Christina Tom
Petty Cash Buyer
Florence Tasker
Standby Carpenter
Will Pope
Standby Rigger
Bryan Griffiths
Practical Electrician
Christian Davies
Props Makers
Penny Howarth
Alan Hardy
Jamie Thomas
Props Driver
Gareth Fox
Construction Manager
Terry Horle
Construction Chargehand
Dean Tucker
Scenic Artist
John Pinkerton
Assistant Costume Designer
Fraser Purfit
Costume Supervisor
Carly Griffith
Costume Assistants
Katarina Cappellazzi
Gemma Evans
Make-Up Artists
Sara Angharad
Julie Fox Pritchard
Casting Associate
Alice Purser
Assistant Editor
Becky Trotman
VFX Editor
Joel Skinner
Dubbing Mixer
Tim Ricketts
ADR Editor
Matthew Cox
Dialogue Editor
Darran Clement
Sound Effects Editor
Paul Jefferies
Foley Editor
Jamie Talbutt
Peter Anderson Studio
Online Editor
Geraint Pari Huws
Mick Vincent
Original Theme Music
Ron Grainer
Casting Director
Andy Pryor CDG
Production Executive
Julie Scott
Post Production Supervisor
Nerys Davies
Production Accountant
Jeff Dunn
Sound Recordist
Deian Llŷr Humphreys
Costume Designer
Howard Burden
Make-Up Designer
Barbara Southcott
Murray Gold
Visual Effects
The Mill
Special Effects
Real SFX
Millennium FX
Nick Arthurs
Production Designer
Michael Pickwoad
Director Of Photography
Mike Southon BSC
Script Producer
Denise Paul
Line Producer
Diana Barton
Executive Producers
Steven Moffat
Caroline Skinner

Updated 21st July 2014