New Series Episode 137:
The Pilot


The Doctor and Nardole have spent years in seclusion at a university in modern-day Britain, guarding a secret vault. But despite his promise to remain hidden, the Doctor can't resist taking a bright young cafetaria worker named Bill Potts under his wing. And when Bill finds herself pursued by an entity seemingly made entirely of water, the Doctor is forced back into action -- only to discover that even the length and breadth of time and space is not enough to protect his new friend.



  • Forthcoming.

Original Transmission
Date 15th Apr 2017
Time 7.21pm
Duration 49'40"
Viewers (more) 6.7m (10th)
· BBC1/HD 6.7m
· iPlayer 1.2m
Appreciation 83%

The Doctor
Peter Capaldi
Matt Lucas
Pearl Mackie
Jennifer Hennessy
Stephanie Hyam
Voice of the Daleks
Nicholas Briggs

Written by
Steven Moffat
Directed by
Lawrence Gough
Produced by
Peter Bennett

Stunt Coordinator
Andy Merchant
Stunt Performer
Troy Kenchington
1st Assistant Directors
Seth Adams
Fletcher Rodley
2nd Assistant Director
James DeHaviland
3rd Assistant Director
Christopher J Thomas
Assistant Directors
Rhun Llewelyn
Lauren Pate
Unit Drivers
Sean Evans
Kyle Davies
Location Manager
Iwan Roberts
Unit Manager
Nick Clark
Production Manager
Medyr Llewelyn
Production Coordinator
Sandra Cosfeld
Assistant Production Coordinator
Nicola Chance
Production Assistants
Virginia Bonet
Jamie Shaw
Assistant Accountant
Justine Wooff
Art Department Accountant
Alison Harvey
Script Supervisor
Nicki Coles
Script Executive
Lindsey Alford
Script Editor
Nick Lambon
Assistant Script Editor
Emma Genders
Camera Operator
Mark McQuoid
Focus Pullers
Jonathan Vidgen
Ilaria Fulvio
Elhein De Wet
Camera Assistants
Gethin Williams
Drew Marsden
Dan Patounas
John Robinson
Assistant Grip
Sean Cronin
Sound Maintenance Engineers
Tam Shoring
Christopher Goding
Shaun Farbon
Mark Hutchings
Andy Gardiner
Best Boy
Gawain Nash
Gareth Sheldon
Bob Milton
Sion Davies
Supervising Art Director
Henry Jaworski
Art Director
Tim Overson
Standby Art Director
Christina Tom
Set Decorator
Adrian Anscombe
Production Buyer
Sarah Frere
Prop Buyers
Jen Saguaro
Jo Pearce
Kartik Nagar
Julia Jones
Storyboard Artist
Adam Pescott
Props Chargehand
Paul Smith
Standby Props
Matt Ireland
Jonathan Barclay
Prop Hands
Scott Howe
Nigel Magni
Matt Watts
Jamie Southcott
Concept Artist
Darren Fereday
Graphic Artist
Matt Clark
Graphics Assistant
Jack Bowes
Standby Carpenter
Paul Jones
Shadow Scaffolding
Standby Rigger
Colin Toms
Practical Electricians
Christian Davies
Austin Curtis
Props Driver
Gareth Fox
Construction Manager
Terry Horle
Construction Chargehand
Dean Tucker
Chargehand Carpenter
John Sinnott
Tim Burke
Matt Ferry
Chris Daniels
George Rees
Dan Berrow
Keith Richards
Campbell Fraser
Joe Painter
Alan Jones
Mike Venables
Construction Driver
Jonathan Tylke
Construction Labourer
Jason Tylke
Head Scenic Artist
Clive Clarke
Steve Nelms
John Nelms
Paul Murray
Debby McShane
Assistant Costume Designer
Zoe Howerska
Costume Supervisor
Kat Willis
Costume Assistants
Rebecca Cunningham
Leila Headon
Jenny Tindle
Make-up Supervisor
James Spinks
Make-up Artists
Megan Bowes
Lolly Goodship
Unit Medic
Glyn Evans
Casting Associate
Ri McDaid-Wren
Casting Assistant
Louis Constantine
Business Affairs Executive
Carol Griggs
Assistant Editors
Becky Trotman
David Davies
Post Production Coordinator
Hannah Jones
VFX Editor
Dan Rawlings
Dubbing Mixer
Mark Ferda
ADR Editor
Matthew Cox
Dialogue Editor
Darran Clement
Effects Editor
Harry Barnes
Foley Editor
Simon Clement
Foley Artist
Meltem Baytok
BBC Wales Graphics
Title Concept
Billy Hanshaw
Online Editors
Geraint Pari Huws
Mark Hardyman
Assistant Online Editor
Christine Kelly
Gareth Spensley
Music Conducted & Orchestrated By
Alastair King
Music Mixed By
Jake Jackson
Music Recorded By
Gerry O'Riordan
Music Score Assistant
Jack Sugden
Original Theme Music
Ron Grainer
Daleks created by
Terry Nation
Casting Director
Andy Pryor CDG
Head of Production
Gordon Ronald
Production Executive
Tracie Simpson
Post Production Supervisor
Samantha Price
Production Accountant
Simon Wheeler
Sound Recordist
Deian Llŷr Humphreys
Costume Designer
Hayley Nebauer
Make-up Designer
Barbara Southcott
Murray Gold
Visual Effects
Special Effects
Real SFX
Special Creature Effects & Prosthetics
Millennium FX
Will Oswald
Production Designer
Michael Pickwoad
Director of Photography
Ashley Rowe
Line Producer
Steffan Morris
Executive Producers
Steven Moffat
Brian Minchin

Working Titles
A Star In Her Eye

Updated 24th June 2017