New Series Episode 149:
Twice Upon A Time


On the verge of regenerating but weary of his long life and the burden of assuming a new form, the Doctor finds himself in Antarctica in 1986. There he comes face to face with his original self, who is contending with the weighty decision of whether or not to accept his first regeneration. Together the two Doctors must come to the aid of a time-lost British army captain from the Great War, who is being pursued by a mysterious woman seemingly made from glass. With Bill Potts somehow back at his side, the Doctor embarks on what may be his final journey into time, space and memory.



  • Forthcoming.

Original Transmission
Date 25th Dec 2017
Time 5.29pm
Duration 59'49
Viewers (more) 7.9m (9th)
· BBC1/HD 7.9m
· iPlayer 1.0m
Appreciation 81%

The Doctor
Peter Capaldi
David Bradley
William Hartnell
Jodie Whittaker
Pearl Mackie
The Captain
Mark Gatiss
Jenna Coleman
Matt Lucas
Helen Clay
Nikki Amuka-Bird
German Soldier
Toby Whithouse
Lily Travers
Anneke Wills
Michael Craze
Jared Garfield
Voice of the Daleks
Nicholas Briggs

Written by
Steven Moffat
Directed by
Rachel Talalay
Produced by
Peter Bennett

The Tenth Planet Written by
Kit Pedler
Gerry Davis
Stunt Coordinators
Crispin Layfield
Dani Biernat
Stunt Performers
Jamie Edgell
Belinda McGinley
Andrew Burford
Samuel Stefan
Lloyd Bass
Ian Pead
Liam Carey
Wire Supervisor
Bob Schofield
1st Assistant Director
Mark Hedges
2nd Assistant Director
James DeHaviland
3rd Assistant Director
Christopher J Thomas
Assistant Directors
Lauren Pate
Kieran Hayhow
Unit Drivers
Paul Watkins
Jolyon Davey
Location Manager
Nicky James
Unit Manager
David Blayney
Production Coordinator
Sandra Cosfeld
Assistant Production Coordinator
Nicola Chance
Production Assistants
Tereza Dvorakova
Jamie Shaw
Assistant Accountants
Bethan Griffiths
Matthew Fisher
Script Supervisor
Nicki Coles
Script Editor
Nick Lambon
Camera Operator
Mark McQuoid
Focus Pullers
Jonathan Vidgen
Elhein De Wet
Camera Assistants
Gethin Williams
Drew Marsden
Dan Patounas
John Robinson
Assistant Grip
Ash Whitfield
Sound Maintenance Engineers
Dafydd Parry
James Abbay-Bowes
Ben Purcell
Best Boy
John Truckle
Mat Grace
Jack Crew
Owen Hashimi
Peter Scott
Supervising Art Director
Martin Boddison
Art Director
Tim Overson
Standby Art Director
Nick Murray
Set Decorator
Adrian Anscombe
Production Buyer
Sarah Frere
Petty Cash Buyer
Jen Saguaro
Matt Sanders
Storyboard Artist
Mike Collins
Prop Master
Paul Smith
Props Chargehand
Kyle Belmont
Standby Props
Jonathan Barclay
Ryan Milton
Prop Hands
Scott Howe
Nigel Magni
Matt Watts
Jamie Southcott
Concept/Graphic Artist
Sam Lamont
Graphics Assistant
Jack Bowes
Standby Carpenter
Jamie Farrell
Shadow Scaffolding
Standby Riggers
Colin Toms
Thomas Williams
Practical Electricians
Callum Alexander
Austin Curtis
Props Driver
Gareth Fox
Construction Manager
Terry Horle
Construction Chargehand
Dean Tucker
Chargehand Carpenter
John Sinnott
Chris Daniels
Campbell Fraser
Dan Berrow
Jeremy Cohen
Joe Painter
Mark Painter
Matt Ferry
George Rees
Tom Berrow
Tim Burke
Jonathan Tylke
Construction Driver
Darren Bousie
Construction Labourer
Jason Tylke
Head Scenic Artist
Clive Clarke
Scenic Artist
Tara McCourt
Steve Nelms
Paul Murray
Assistant Costume Designer
Gayle Playford
Costume Supervisor
Gayle Woodsend
Costume Assistants
Rebecca Cunningham
Jessica Lennon
Chloe Henderson
Make-up Supervisor
James Spinks
Make-up Artists
Derek Lloyd
Cathy Davies
Unit Medic
Glyn Evans
Casting Associate
Ri McDaid-Wren
Casting Assistant
Louis Constantine
Business Affairs Executive
Carol Griggs
Drama Account Manager
Edward Russell
Assistant Editor
David Davies
VFX Editor
Dan Rawlings
Additional VFX Artist
Ben Pickles
Post Production Coordinator
Hannah Jones
Dubbing Mixer
Mark Ferda
ADR Editor
Matthew Cox
Dialogue Editor
Darran Clement
Effects Editor
Harry Barnes
Foley Editor
Simon Clement
Foley Artist
Julie Ankerson
Title Concept
Billy Hanshaw
Online Editors
Geraint Pari Huws
Christine Kelly
Assistant Online Editor
Daniel Attwood
Gareth Spensley
Music Conducted & Orchestrated By
Alastair King
Music Mixed By
Jake Jackson
Music Recorded By
Gerry O'Riordan
Music Score Assistant
Jack Sugden
Original Theme Music
Ron Grainer
With Thanks to
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Casting Director
Andy Pryor CDG
Head of Production
Gordon Ronald
Production Executive
Tracie Simpson
Post Production Supervisor
Samantha Price
Production Accountant
Maria Hurley
Sound Recordist
Gareth Mêirion Thomas
Costume Designer
Hayley Nebauer
Make-up Designer
Barbara Southcott
Murray Gold
Visual Effects
Special Effects
Real SFX
Special Creature Effects & Prosthetics
Millennium FX
Will Oswald
Production Designer
Michael Pickwoad
Director of Photography
Richard Stoddard
Line Producer
Steffan Morris
Executive Producers
Steven Moffat
Brian Minchin

Updated 8th January 2018