The Thirteenth Doctor (2017-)
Season 37 Season Thirty-Seven (2018)
Information coming soon...

Season Thirty-Seven

The Doctor
The Thirteenth Doctor

The Thirteenth Doctor will be played by Jodie Whittaker. Whittaker most famously starred in Broadchurch, the mystery-drama created by new Doctor Who showrunner Chris Chibnall. Whittaker has also appeared in programmes such as Doctors, Black Mirror, The Assets and The Smoke, as well as movies including St Trinian's (and its sequel) and Attack The Block. She made her professional debut on stage in 2005 as Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, in a production of Aleksandr Ostrovsky's The Storm. Whittaker was revealed as the Thirteen Doctor in a short video which aired following the conclusion of the Wimbledon Gentlemen's Final on July 16th, 2017.

The Production Team

With Season Thirty-Seven, Chris Chibnall will become the showrunner and executive producer of Doctor Who. A lifelong fan of the programme, Chibnall has written for Doctor Who since 42 in 2007, having previously been the lead writer for the spin-off series Torchwood. Chibnall created and wrote all three seasons of Broadchurch, earning widespread critical acclaim. He has also been the executive producer of Born And Bred, Law & Order: UK and Camelot, in addition to Gracepoint, the American remake of the first season of Broadchurch.

Chibnall will be joined by two other executive producers on Doctor Who. Matt Strevens' career as a producer has included The Bill, Skins, Misfits and Cucumber, as well as the Doctor Who docudrama An Adventure In Space And Time. Sam Hoyle was an associate producer on Broadchurch after previously working on that show as a script executive; he has also been an assistant producer on 3 Non-Blondes, a script executive on The Life And Adventures Of Nicholas Nickleby and Jinx, and a story editor on Camelot.

On October 22nd, the BBC announced that, in addition to Jodie Whittaker, the regular cast will include:

  • Tosin Cole as Ryan St Clair. Cole has had regular roles in programmes such as The Cut, EastEnders: E20 and Hollyoaks, and also enjoyed a small role in the film Star Wars: The Force Awakens.
  • Mandeep Gill as Yasmin Khan. Gill was previously a regular on Hollyoaks and Doctors.
  • Bradley Walsh as Graham. Walsh has starred in Coronation Street and Law & Order: UK, while also serving as presenter for a number of programmes. Walsh also appeared as the titular villain in Day Of The Clown, a 2008 serial for The Sarah Jane Adventures.

In addition, Sharon D Clarke will play a recurring role. Clarke appeared in several seasons of Holby City, as well as shows such as The Bill, New Tricks and Death In Paradise.

It has also been confirmed that Season Thirty-Seven will air in the autumn of 2018. The season will consist of only ten episodes (as opposed to the twelve which had been the norm during Peter Capaldi's era, and the thirteen for Christopher Eccleston, David Tennant and Matt Smith). However, each episode will now be 50 minutes long (as opposed to the previous standard length of 45 minutes), with the exception of the season premiere which will run for 65 minutes.

The only director confirmed so far is:

  • Jamie Childs (Block One), who has previously directed episodes of Vera and Stan Lee's Lucky Man. Childs also helmed the trailer which unveiled Jodie Whittaker as the Thirteenth Doctor.

Filming January 2018 took place in Cape Town, South Africa. On February 20th, a new logo -- the first major redesign since 2010 -- was unveiled.